New Music Friday — New Albums From Lil Durk's OTF & K Camp's Rare Sound, Tory Lanez, OMB Peezy + More

HipHopDX – Several big steppas’ are stampeding into the opening week of March with marquee New Music Friday releases.

For fans of label compilation albums, Lil Durk has assembled his OTF imprint for their first unified audio-outing and K Camp’s Rare Sound squad re-convenes for the deluxe edition of their tight-knit 2020 album. Additionally, new bodies of work from Tory Lanez, OMB Peezy and YBN Almight Jay, respectively.

Dive into the highlighted releases for the week ending Friday (March 4).

Tory Lanez — Playboy

In an Instagram post on Wednesday (March 3), Chixtape 5 rap-singer Tory Lanez explained his new Playboy R&B capsule project was completely different from his 2019 sample-bound effort, primarily because he and his team made the music completely from scratch. In addition to his heavy Chris Brown-featuring ballad “Feels” Playboy houses 12-records of Tory’s falsetto runs and improvised contemporary love concepts.

Only The Family — Lil Durk Presents: Loyal Bros

Energized by the strength of King Von’s beckoning posthumous verse on the posse-cut-turned-single “Jump” Lil Durk’s OTF crew delivers their inaugural label compilation album Loyal Bros. Comprised of material from OTF rappers Booka600 and Memo600, the massive 23-track effort includes guest appearances from Tee Grizzley, EST Gee, Foogiano and Slimelifeshawt, among others.

Rare Sound — Rare Family (Reloaded)

As a truncated NBA All-Star experience descends on the city of Atlanta, K Camp has crafted a one-of-a-kind, rare experience to coincide with the event while celebrating the release of the Rare Sound Studios Rare Family (Reloaded) compilation. Bobby Kritikal, Genius, Lil Bird, and True Story Gee reprise their places on the deluxe edition of Rare Sound’s combined 2020 effort.

OMB Peezy — Too Deep For Tears

It appears nothing can stop Alabama-bred artist OMB Peezy, considering the Preacher To The Streets rapper furnished a $60,000 bail bond the eve of the release of his latest album Too Deep For Tears. Peezy handles the majority of the 15-track release on his own, with notable assists from Blac Youngsta, Rylo Rodriguez and Jacquees. Too Deep For Tears also arrives intact with a bonus track featuring King Von and Jackboy.

YBN Almighty Jay — Battling My Spirit

After breaking his silence with regards to Cordae’s departure from the Young Boss Niggas imprint they created in conjunction with YBN Nahmir, it appears that YBN Almighty Jay is ready to tell it all with his Battling My Spirit album. The short eight-song project is entirely handled by Jay and features his tell-all intro track “Get Rich In The Hood” where he reveals he moved back to the hood to sell drugs after having signing a record deal.

Los Angeles rapper Pure Luxury holds down the lone Honorable Mention spot this week with his Original P project.