Bobby Shmurda Announces First Post-Prison Project 'Bodboy' EP

Just when fans were delighted to hear Bobby Shmurda’s debut album Ready To Live would be dropping sometime this summer, the rapper announced he has an EP on the way as well.

Last week, Bobby Shmurda revealed via press release that his first post-prison EP, Bodboy, will drop on August 5. On top of the new EP, the Brooklyn rapper is also launching his label GS9 Records, in partnership with ONErpm. The EP’s first single, “Hoochie Daddy,” was released on Friday (July 22).

Bodboy could be the first official step for Bobby to kick off the second half of a music career that was put on hold due to his time in prison. He got things started by getting out of his deal with Epic Records and released several tracks, such as “Getting Em Back,” “They Don’t Know,” “Cartier Lens,” “No Time For Sleep,” “Shmoney” featuring Quavo and Rowdy Rebel and “Hitta” with Funk Flex.

The Shmoney dance creator hasn’t posted anything on his socials regarding the news, which could lead fans to be skeptical. Many of the dates for promised music have since passed.

Bobby Shmurda revealed during an interview with HotNewHipHop that his debut album Ready To Live was due out next month and would feature appearances from Rich the Kid, Rowdy Rebel, 42 Dugg, DaBaby, Meek Mill, and Key Glock among others.

“Ready To Live is like where I come from,” he said. “I come from the slums. I see crack, I see drug dealers. I see pregnant people when they 13, twelve. Ratchet shit all day, so just coming outside ready to live to finally get some breathe.”

Check out the tracklist for Bodboy below.

1. “Gorilla”
2. “From The Slums”
3. “Hoochie Daddy”
4. “Whole Back”
5. “No Sense”
6. “Glock Inside” ft. Fat Tony
7. “RSN”
8. “Bodmon”
9. “On God” featuring Rowdy Rebel